Posted in Uncategorized

Z to H: Day 11: Write to Prompt

Well, today marks the eleventh day of class; thank goodness the weekend allowed me to attempt to catch up on a never-ending task.

Today’s assignment: Write to a prompt.

REASON TO BELIEVE

Reason to Believe
In Reason to Believe, Bruce Springsteen sings, “At the end of every hard-earned day / people find some reason to believe.” What’s your reason to believe?

Before I can answer the questions about my reason to believe, I need to look at what I believe and why I believe it.

I was raised in a Swedish Lutheran family and church. Church and family seemed to be one and the same since my entire extended family on my mother’s side attended the church and were highly involved.

It wasn’t until the summer after sixth grade that I was introduced to the idea of other forms of religions and belief systems and encouraged to explore them. It started that summer at church camp when we started confirmation classes. It was here that as a class we listened and discussed the recording of the rock opera, Jesus Christ Superstar. Both of the ministers also believed that we needed to learn about other religions so that we could make our own religious decisions instead of following blindly what our parents expected. (Of course, we all became confirmed members of the church because it was expected.)

After we were confirmed, only three members of our class stayed active in church. Now, it is really only two as I haven’t attended church regularly since 1998.

Attending church became strained after my first husband walked out. During church, I felt the focus of the sermon was on my husband walking out and that I had been the one who had forced him to leave because I wasn’t the wife I should be. (That pastor didn’t last long in the church, but it was so hurtful that I have found it difficult to return.)

In the past two decades, I have found myself developing my own belief system.

So, what do I believe?

I believe that I have everything to do with the good that comes my way. This may sound self-serving, but think about it: if I want something good to come into my life, I MUST do something to invite it in. Whether I invite the good in by prayer, by meditation, by hard work, or by perseverance, I have done something.

I believe that there is something greater than myself: a deity, nature, or magic.

I believe that evil exists on this planet. Evil comes in the form of greed that comes with wanting something without working hard for what you want; evil comes in living your life the way you want without considering how it affects the planet and the world (people) around you.

I believe that prayer and meditation are equal. And that prayers are answered. Not always in the way you want, but in the way you need them to be answered.

I believe that good deeds do not go unnoticed.

AND

I believe in the Wiccan Rede, for it is so much more than the 10 Commandments and encompasses what the 10 Commandments say.

The Wiccan Rede
(Full Version) from http://wicca.com/celtic/wicca/rede.htm



Bide within the Law you must, in perfect Love and perfect Trust.
Live you must and let to live, fairly take and fairly give.

For tread the Circle thrice about to keep unwelcome spirits out.
To bind the spell well every time, let the spell be said in rhyme.

Light of eye and soft of touch, speak you little, listen much.
Honor the Old Ones in deed and name,
let love and light be our guides again.

Deosil go by the waxing moon, chanting out the joyful tune.
Widdershins go when the moon doth wane,
and the werewolf howls by the dread wolfsbane.

When the Lady’s moon is new, kiss the hand to Her times two.
When the moon rides at Her peak then your heart’s desire seek.

Heed the North winds mighty gale, lock the door and trim the sail.
When the Wind blows from the East, expect the new and set the feast.

When the wind comes from the South, love will kiss you on the mouth.
When the wind whispers from the West, all hearts will find peace and rest.

Nine woods in the Cauldron go, burn them fast and burn them slow.
Birch in the fire goes to represent what the Lady knows.

Oak in the forest towers with might, in the fire it brings the God’s
insight.   Rowan is a tree of power causing life and magick to flower.

Willows at the waterside stand ready to help us to the Summerland.
Hawthorn is burned to purify and to draw faerie to your eye.

Hazel-the tree of wisdom and learning adds its strength to the bright fire burning.
White are the flowers of Apple tree that brings us fruits of fertility.

Grapes grow upon the vine giving us both joy and wine.
Fir does mark the evergreen to represent immortality seen.

Elder is the Lady’s tree burn it not or cursed you’ll be.
Four times the Major Sabbats mark in the light and in the dark.

As the old year starts to wane the new begins, it’s now Samhain.
When the time for Imbolc shows watch for flowers through the snows.

When the wheel begins to turn soon the Beltane fires will burn.
As the wheel turns to Lamas night power is brought to magick rite.

Four times the Minor Sabbats fall use the Sun to mark them all.
When the wheel has turned to Yule light the log the Horned One rules.

In the spring, when night equals day time for Ostara to come our way.
When the Sun has reached it’s height time for Oak and Holly to fight.

Harvesting comes to one and all when the Autumn Equinox does fall.
Heed the flower, bush, and tree by the Lady blessed you’ll be.

Where the rippling waters go cast a stone, the truth you’ll know.
When you have and hold a need, harken not to others greed.

With a fool no season spend or be counted as his friend.
Merry Meet and Merry Part bright the cheeks and warm the heart.

Mind the Three-fold Laws you should three times bad and three times good.
When misfortune is enow wear the star upon your brow.

Be true in love this you must do unless your love is false to you.

These Eight words the Rede fulfill:

“An Ye Harm None, Do What Ye Will”

It is the last eight words that encompasses so much. “Harm NONE.” That means nature, others, AND YOURSELF. That is something that the 10 Commandments don’t tell you. They tell you not to steal, not to kill, not to covet. They tell you to honor your parents, to worship the one GOD. BUT nowhere do they tell you to take care of yourself, to respect yourself.

I started to investigate Wicca when my oldest became interested in the Pagan beliefs. I find it to be something that pulls at my soul. I find it fills the gaps that existed in my Lutheran upbringing.

This has been a long-winded way to come around to my reasons for believing.

I believe that there are higher powers (whatever they may be) because

my husband survived a heart attack.

my oldest found his soul mate.

my grandchildren are overcoming great odds.

I don’t believe that we can exist on our own.

2 thoughts on “Z to H: Day 11: Write to Prompt

  1. If I understand correctly you are both developing your own belief system and believing in the Wicca 10 thus having found beliefs that let you develop your own understanding while also sharing this within a group. Sounds wonderful

    Like

Leave a comment