Posted in WEIGHING IN

WEIGHING IN

I hate scales; however, necessity requires me to step on one occasionally. Usually, I take the time to set foot on a scale on the first day of the New Year. It tells me how much damage my unrestrained holiday feasting has done. I’ve used it in the past to motivate me to get in shape and lose weight.

Has it worked? Ah, no! Knowing how much I weigh doesn’t seem to warrant my action.

So, every Tuesday, I’m going to be “weighing in” on how changes in what I am eating and doing have impacted how I feel.

I know in my mind that when I eat whole foods and make sure a great deal of them are vegetables, I feel better.

I know in my mind that when I get quality sleep, I feel better.

I know in my mind that when I get up early, I feel better – and I sleep better that evening.

I know in my mind that when I get some sunshine, I feel better.

I know in my mind that when I exercise, I feel better.

I know in my mind that when I drink enough water, I feel better.

SO, why don’t I do these things every day?

It’s simple, at least to me. It takes time and effort. It takes a time and effort that until recently I didn’t seem to possess. It takes putting me first, which is a very difficult thing for me.

So, to weigh in for today, I must identify what I plan to do this week.

  1. Include fresh vegetables in at least one meal each day.
  2. Get up no later than 7:00 am each morning.
  3. Take the dogs for a morning walk = exercise each day AND sunshine each day.
  4. Fill my water bottle 4 times each day.

Now it is time for you to weigh in. What can you commit to each day for a week that will improve your health by the end of this week?

Leave a Reply

