Posted in EXERCISE

EXERCISE DECISIONS

Your weight can fit within the high and low for your frame, and you can be making healthy choices related to eating, but if you are not getting some form of exercising, you are not doing the best for your body.

One way to start getting your body moving is now called the 50/10 rule. I think I was ahead of the research while I was teaching. I would set a timer for 45 minutes and grade papers for that 45 minutes. It was a challenge to see how many papers I could grade. Then, I would set the timer again, but this time for 15 minutes. During those 15 minutes, I would get up and do something else. I thought of it as balancing my grading at home and getting the housework done. Research now tells us we should get up and move for 10 minutes every hour. Now, I am setting a timer for 50 minutes and working for that time and then getting up to move. Not necessarily exercise, but move: take the dogs out, do the dishes, make the bed, fold the laundry.

I feel better when I exercise, most of the time. Between Christmas and New Year’s Eve, my husband and I purchased the Simply Fit Board. We didn’t try them out until yesterday. We came to the following conclusions

  1. The dogs must be put out on the porch or the back deck BEFORE we pull the boards out. As we started out twisting on the boards, the dogs thought we were playing. The one, Nutmeg, was jumping up and wanting to play. Then, the other dog started attacking the moving board just like he did with the vacuum cleaner’s beater bar.
  2. You MUST focus on balance. You work on twisting, but you are balancing on the balance point of the board.
  3. You might find that one of your sides is stronger than the other. I find, because one side is weaker than the other, that when I twist, I seem to work in a circle.
  4. It doesn’t seem like exercise. Like when I was a kid and enjoyed swinging or riding my bike, twisting on the Simply Fit Board seems like play and I can watch television while I am working out.
  5. I can feel the muscles I am working: I can feel specific muscles in my core.

If balance isn’t your forte, at least get out and walk. Walk around the outside of your house, walk around your block, walk the community path in your city or town, walk around the mall in your town.

Exercise doesn’t have to cost money, but whatever you are sitting here doing, remember to get up and move. Get up and exercise.

Leave a Reply

